DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS © 2019 UPDATED Sept.10, 2019

Goldex

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Saturday, November 30,2019 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

•Leader: Rayfield Pye

•Niagara Falls is a common destination for gulls in late fall and winter. A variety of interesting birds have been seen in the past including Lesser Black-backed, Slaty-backed, and California Gulls; Black-legged Kittiwake; Brant; Purple Sandpiper; Red Phalarope, Canvasback; Common Loons, Tundra Swan, etc.. Niagara is also home to Tufted Titmice so a handful of seed may get you a lifer.

•Meet to car pool at the southwest corner of the Pickering GO station. The drive to Niagara Falls should take approximately 2 hours.

•Difficulty: It can be very cold, wet and/or snowy beside the Niagara River. (It can also be warm and dry…) Dress to stay warm and dry. Wear layers of clothing for flexibility. Casual walking on sidewalks will be required.

•Bring water and a lunch or prepare to dine at Tim’s in Chippawa.

Saturday, December 21, 2019

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

•Contact Rayfield Pye to participate @ 905-436-7998 or raypye@interlinks.net.

•A sign-up sheet will be available at the November meeting.

•Check for weather forecast and dress accordingly.

Saturday, January 11, 2020 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

•Organized with the help of Judy Bryson.

•This is our annual opportunity to check our favourite feeders in north Pickering and Whitby in search of local birds, northern visitors and those who normally would have headed south by now. After 2-3 hours we’ll return to the church basement to warm-up and have a delicious potluck.

•Meet at Mount Zion United Church to drop off food. (Drive north on Westney Road past highway 7 to Concession 8 and turn right (east). Address is 3000 Concession 8 just east of Salem Road.)

•9:00 departure for a driving tour of feeders.

•Lunch around noon at Mount Zion United Church.

•Dress warmly!

Past Outings

Saturday, October 26, 2019 at 10 AM

Cranberry Marsh – From Different Perspectives

Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019

9:00 am to 3:30 pm

Thickson's Woods Land Trust

Birds, Beavers & Butterflies

Nature Festival

Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 10 AM

Samuel Wilmot Nature Area

Saturday, July 06, 2019 at 1:00 PM

Butterfly Walk at Heber Down Conservation Area

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 5:00 PM

Carden Alvar

Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Stephens Gulch is a little jewel in Spring with a wide assortment of wild flowers. Meet at the Stephen’s Gulch parking lot.

Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Hydro Marsh and Alex Robertson Park (Pickering)

Saturday, March 23 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, February 23 at 10:00 AM

Amherst Island: Raptors

Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Durham Christmas Bird Count

Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Saturday, October 13, 2018

at 10 AM

Darlington Generating Station Parkland

Sat. Sept. 15, 2018

9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Thickson's Woods Fall Festival

Come out and enjoy the festivities and join nature walks guided by DRFN members!

Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature

Saturday, July 14 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Claremont Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, June 16 at 6:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Don Docherty

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Stephen's Gulch Wild Flowers and Nature Walk

CANCELED DUE TO WEATHER

Saturday, April 14. 2018 at 7 AM

Algonquin Park

Saturday, March 03 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

Sat. February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Casual Winter Bird Walk

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"