DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS © 2018 UPDATED MAY 20, 2018

Goldex

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Saturday, July 14 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Claremont Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

•Weather permitting, we should see many fine butterflies.

•Meet at the parking lot at the corner of Westney Road and Concession 7.

•Check the weather forecast and dress accordingly.

•Be prepared with water, sun screen and insect repellent.

•Difficulty: Light walking.

Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature with Otto Peter & Kristen Osborne

•Let’s visit Presqu’ile to see a wide range of flora and fauna. This year we will start with pond dipping at the Marsh Boardwalk. Afterwards we’ll look for late summer wildflowers and see warblers and shorebirds on their southerly migration.

•Meet to car pool at 8:00 AM at the old GO Station parking lot off Simcoe Street South near the Highway 401 on-ramp. Parking is available at the side farthest from the street. (Alternately, meet at the park gates at 9:00 AM.)

•Check the weather forecast and dress accordingly.

•Bring water, lunch, sun screen and insect protection.

•A spotting scope may be helpful although a few should be available.

•Difficulty: Extensive easy walking. Potential calorie overload due to ice cream at the park store.

Past Outings

Saturday, June 16 at 6:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Don Docherty

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Stephen's Gulch Wild Flowers and Nature Walk

CANCELED DUE TO WEATHER

Saturday, April 14. 2018 at 7 AM

Algonquin Park

Saturday, March 03 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

Sat. February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Casual Winter Bird Walk

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

Saturday, January 06, 2017 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, November 26, 2017 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Sunday, November 05, 2017 at 10 AM

Lake Ontario Marshes

Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 10:00 AM

Heber Downs Mushroom Walk

Monday, July 03, 2017 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Enniskillen Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, August 26, 2017 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature Walk with Don Docherty

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:30 PM

Carden Alvar with Otto Peter

DRFN Annual Weekend Outing

June 9-11: 2017

Saturday, May 27,2017 10:00 AM

Rossland Road Butterfly Garden:

Spring Clean-up and Maintenance

Sunday, May 14,2017 10:00 AM

Clements Woods: Wildflowers

Saturday, April 22, 2017 9:00 AM

Thickson’s Woods: Spring Nature Walk and Garlic Mustard Removal

Saturday, March 25, 2017 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, January 14, 2017, 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour

and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Durham Christmas Bird Count

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"