Goldex

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS © 2018 UPDATED May 9, 2019

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Due to high noise levels from this weekend's races at Mosport, traffic congestion around the area and a long walk to see the wildflowers tomorrow's walk is being changed to Stephens Gulch.

Stephens Gulch is a little jewel in Spring with a wide assortment of wild flowers. Meet at the Stephen’s Gulch parking lot.

Directions: Stephen's Gulch Conservation Area is located northeast of Bowmanville. To reach the Stephen's Gulch Conservation Area parking lot, following these directions:

If coming from the south: From Liberty Street North, turn east (right) on Concession Road 4, turn north (left) on Bethesda Road, turn east (right) on Stephen's Mill Road, proceed along Stephen's Mill Road to Stephen's Gulch Conservation Area parking lot If coming from the north: From Taunton Road (east of Liberty Street North), turn south on Bethesda Road, turn east (left) on Stephen's Mill Road, proceed along Stephen's Mill Road to Stephen's Gulch Conservation Area parking lot.

Leaders: Our DRFN Plant Experts

Difficulty: easy walking

Bring appropriate clothing based on the weather forecast. Portions of the area may be slick and muddy depending on the weather so bring appropriate footwear.

Bring water and insect repellent (just in case).

Weather permitting, consider bringing a lunch.

Past Outings

Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Hydro Marsh and Alex Robertson Park (Pickering)

Saturday, March 23 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, February 23 at 10:00 AM

Amherst Island: Raptors

Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Durham Christmas Bird Count

Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Saturday, October 13, 2018

at 10 AM

Darlington Generating Station Parkland

Sat. Sept. 15, 2018

9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Thickson's Woods Fall Festival

Come out and enjoy the festivities and join nature walks guided by DRFN members!

Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature

Saturday, July 14 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Claremont Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, June 16 at 6:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Don Docherty

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Stephen's Gulch Wild Flowers and Nature Walk

CANCELED DUE TO WEATHER

Saturday, April 14. 2018 at 7 AM

Algonquin Park

Saturday, March 03 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

Sat. February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Casual Winter Bird Walk

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

Saturday, January 06, 2017 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, November 26, 2017 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Sunday, November 05, 2017 at 10 AM

Lake Ontario Marshes

Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 10:00 AM

Heber Downs Mushroom Walk

Monday, July 03, 2017 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Enniskillen Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, August 26, 2017 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature Walk with Don Docherty

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:30 PM

Carden Alvar with Otto Peter

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"