Goldex

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 5:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Otto Peter

•An opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of the Alvar in the early evening. Weather permitting; we may see Blue Birds, Loggerhead Shrikes, Upland Sandpiper, Wilson’s Snipe, a variety of Sparrows, Nighthawks, prairie wildflowers and listen to lovely Thrush songs (or coyote yelps) as the sun sets. (Stay late and you may see fire flies and hear Whip-poor-wills.)

•Meet at the Northview Library parking lot. (Alternately meet a Wylie and McNamee Roads at the Carden Alvar at 6:00 PM.)

•Difficulty: Light walking.

•Bring water and insect protection.

Please note time change.

Saturday, July 06, 2019 at 1:00 PM

Butterfly Walk at Heber Down Conservation Area

•Leader: Rayfield Pye.

•It’s prime time to see butterflies. With construction south of the conservation area complicating driving, we’ll meet in the peaceful north.

•Meet at the Northeast parking lot. From Highway 7 drive south on Cochrane Street.

•Bring water, sun screen and insect repellent.

•Difficulty: Light walking.

Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 10 AM

Samuel Wilmot Nature Area

•Brian Reid will introduce us to the area and show us the main trails.

•This is an opportunity to learn about this fascinating area. Expect butterflies, birds and flowers.

•Take 401 to exit 436 for Highway 35/115 toward Lindsay/Peterborough. Merge onto Highway 115. Take the exit toward Newcastle. Merge onto Hwy 2. Turn right at Cobbledick Road. Follow Cobbledick Road south; parking lot is on the right.

•Check the weather forecast and dress accordingly.

•Bring sun screen, water and insect repellent.

•Difficulty: Extensive light walking.

Past Outings

Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Stephens Gulch is a little jewel in Spring with a wide assortment of wild flowers. Meet at the Stephen’s Gulch parking lot.

Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Hydro Marsh and Alex Robertson Park (Pickering)

Saturday, March 23 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, February 23 at 10:00 AM

Amherst Island: Raptors

Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Durham Christmas Bird Count

Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Saturday, October 13, 2018

at 10 AM

Darlington Generating Station Parkland

Sat. Sept. 15, 2018

9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Thickson's Woods Fall Festival

Come out and enjoy the festivities and join nature walks guided by DRFN members!

Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature

Saturday, July 14 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Claremont Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, June 16 at 6:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Don Docherty

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Stephen's Gulch Wild Flowers and Nature Walk

CANCELED DUE TO WEATHER

Saturday, April 14. 2018 at 7 AM

Algonquin Park

Saturday, March 03 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

Sat. February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Casual Winter Bird Walk

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS © 2019 UPDATED June 11, 2019

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"