DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS © 2018 UPDATED Nov. 18, 2018

Goldex

UPCOMING OUTINGS

Note: In the event of a forecast of bad weather, an email will be sent to the DRFN distribution list the evening before a trip, with trip cancellation or re-scheduling information. If you are not on the list, you may check the DRFN website or call the outing leader.

To find out about upcoming outings for Pickering Naturalists, check their website: www.pickeringnaturalists.org

Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

•Leader: Rayfield Pye

•Niagara Falls is a common destination for gulls in late fall and winter. A variety of interesting birds have been seen in the past including Lesser Black-backed, Slaty-backed, and California Gulls; Black-legged Kittiwake; Brant; Purple Sandpiper; Red Phalarope, Canvasback; Common Loons; etc.. Niagara is also home to Tufted Titmice so a handful of seed may get you a lifer.

•Meet to car pool at the southwest corner of the Pickering GO station. The drive to Niagara Falls should take approximately 2 hours.

•Difficulty: It can be very cold, wet and/or snowy beside the Niagara River. (It can also be warm and dry…) Dress to stay warm and dry. Wear layers of clothing for flexibility. Casual walking on sidewalks will be required.

•Bring water and a lunch or prepare to dine at Tim’s in Chippawa.

Saturday, December 22

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

•Contact Rayfield Pye to participate @ 905-436-7998 or raypye@interlinks.net.

•A sign-up sheet will be available at the November meeting.

•Check for weather forecast and dress accordingly.

Saturday, January 12 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

•Organized with the help of Judy Bryson.

•This year, we’re hoping to see a variety of northern finches that have headed south in search of food. There are good possibilities of Siskins and Redpolls.

•Meet at Mount Zion United Church to drop off food. (Drive north on Westney Road past highway 7 to Concession 8 and turn right (east). Address is 3000 Concession 8 just east of Salem Road.)

•9:00 departure for a driving tour of feeders.

•Lunch around noon at Mount Zion United Church.

•Dress warmly!

Past Outings

Saturday, October 13 at 10 AM

Darlington Generating Station Parkland

Sat. Sept. 15, 2018

9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Thickson's Woods Fall Festival

Come out and enjoy the festivities and join nature walks guided by DRFN members!

Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature

Saturday, July 14 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Claremont Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, June 16 at 6:00 PM

Carden Alvar with Don Docherty

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Stephen's Gulch Wild Flowers and Nature Walk

CANCELED DUE TO WEATHER

Saturday, April 14. 2018 at 7 AM

Algonquin Park

Saturday, March 03 at 10:00 AM

Leslie Street Spit / Tommy Thompson Park

Sat. February 17, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Casual Winter Bird Walk

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Durham Christmas Bird Count.

Saturday, January 06, 2017 at 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, November 26, 2017 at 8 AM

Niagara Gulls

Sunday, November 05, 2017 at 10 AM

Lake Ontario Marshes

Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 10:00 AM

Heber Downs Mushroom Walk

Monday, July 03, 2017 at 1:00 PM

Butterflies at Enniskillen Conservation Area with Rayfield Pye

Saturday, August 26, 2017 at 8:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park Nature Walk with Don Docherty

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 5:30 PM

Carden Alvar with Otto Peter

DRFN Annual Weekend Outing

June 9-11: 2017

Saturday, May 27,2017 10:00 AM

Rossland Road Butterfly Garden:

Spring Clean-up and Maintenance

Sunday, May 14,2017 10:00 AM

Clements Woods: Wildflowers

Saturday, April 22, 2017 9:00 AM

Thickson’s Woods: Spring Nature Walk and Garlic Mustard Removal

Saturday, March 25, 2017 at 9:00 AM

Presqu’ile Provincial Park: Waterfowl

Saturday, January 14, 2017, 8:45 AM

Annual Winter Bird Feeder Tour

and Potluck Lunch

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Durham Christmas Bird Count

DURHAM REGION FIELD NATURALISTS

"conservation through education"